Seven PDP states withdraw case against Tinubu’s election

Seven PDP states withdraw case against Tinubu’s election

Promise Eze

Seven state governments under the control of the Peoples Democratic Party have withdrawn their suit filed before the Supreme Court against the Federal Government challenging the results of the February 25 presidential and National Assembly elections.

According to Premium Times, the states, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo, Taraba and Sokoto, discontinued the suit which had their attorneys-general as plaintiffs and the Attorney General of the Federation as the sole defendant.

The attorneys-general of the states had filed the suit asking the Supreme Court to intervene in the just concluded general elections. They based their claims on a potential breakdown of public order and civil disobedience.

Their suit challenged the declaration of Bola Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as president-elect.

But Mike Ozekhome, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, who filed the suit on behalf of the seven states, filed for discontinuance of the case on Friday.

He said, “The Supreme Court suit between the six states and AG Federation which was filed during the flawed manual collation of results contrary to the clear provisions of the Electoral Act, the INEC Guidelines and Regulations and the manual for INEC officials, has been discontinued due to the fact that the flawed results have already been announced and a President-elect declared albeit illegally and unconstitutionally.

“Having been overtaken by events, it will now be a tribunal matter.”


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: