Blackbox Nigeria


Sacked Ministers: Who Are They?

By  | 

Leshi Adebayo



It is no longer news that President Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, sacked the Minister of Agriculture, Mohammed Sabo Nanono and Minister of Power, Mamman Saleh. With immediate effect, the duo were replaced with the Ministers of Environment, Mohammed Mahmoud Abubakar and Works and Housing (State), Abubakar Aliyu.

In this piece, Blackbox Nigeria gives detailed information about the two former ministers.


Mohammed Sabo Nanono

He was born on April 11, 1946, in Gabasawa Local Government Area of Kano State. Alhaji Nanono attended Zakirai and Gwarzo primary schools. He had his secondary school education at Birnin Kudu Secondary School and Government College, Kano.

Then, he proceeded to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria to study Business Administration. He bagged his bachelor’s degree in 1972.

In 1977, he bagged his Master’s Degree in Public Policy and Administration from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA. Alhaji Muhammad Sabo Nanono also attended an Advanced Management Course at Harvard Business School, Boston Massachusetts In 1994.

He was a once a university lecturer, civil servant, a farmer and banker. He rose to the position of Managing Director of African International Bank (AIB). He is the Village Head of Tofai in Gabasawa.


Mamman Kwagyang Saleh

He was born on January 2, 1958. Saleh is from Taraba State. He holds a higher National Diploma in Electrical Electronics from Kaduna Polytechnic. He graduated in 1988. Also, he holds an MBA in Business Administration from Bayero University Kano and graduated in 2015.

In 1981, the former Minister of Power started out as a teacher in Technical School, Mubi, Adamawa State. By 1992, he transferred his service to Taraba State. He was promoted to the rank of Assistant Director in the Ministry of Works in Taraba State. He retired from this duty in 2002.

Meanwhile, the termination of their appointments came two years and few days after they were inaugurated by the President in 2019 alongside 41 others. Their sack is said to be the first in the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration since he assumed office in 2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: