Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission picks July for Local Government Elections

By  | 

The Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has announced that elections into the 20 Local Government Councils and 37 Local Council Development Areas in the state, will hold in July.

Making this announcement today was the Chairperson of the Commission, retired Justice Ayotunde Phillips.

Justice Phillips said LASIEC is committed to conducting a free, fair, credible and inclusive election.

She said the statutory notice shall be published very soon. Sources close to the Commission said the election will likely hold mid-July.

The current Chairmen were sworn in by the former Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode, on July 25 2017, for a four year term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: