Kano Assembly Dissolves All Emirate Councils, Grants Governor Power to Appoint New Emirs

Kano Assembly Dissolves All Emirate Councils, Grants Governor Power to Appoint New Emirs

By Muminat Ajide

On Thursday, the Kano dissolved all five emirate councils in the State. They declared that Governor Abba Yusuf holds the sole constitutional powers to appoint new emirs.

This decision was reached during the assembly’s plenary session.

Back in May 2019, the assembly approved an amendment to the Kano State Emirate Council Law, leading to the decentralization of power.

The amendment aimed to reduce the authority of Muhammadu Sanusi, the then Emir of Kano. Abdullahi Ganduje, the governor at the time, signed the bill into law.

The amended law established five distinct emirates: Kano, Bichi, Rano, Gaya, and Karaye. Kano and Karaye emirates each have jurisdiction over eight local government areas, while Bichi and Gaya emirates cover nine local government areas each. Rano Emirate has jurisdiction over 10 local government areas out of the 44 in the state.

Following the deposition of Emir Muhammadu Sanusi on March 9, 2020, the law was further amended, specifying that the chairman of the council would be the Emir of Kano.

During the assembly’s proceedings, the Kano State Emirate Council Amendment Bill underwent thorough consideration after passing the second and third readings. Deputy Speaker Alhaji Muhammad Bello Butu expressed that repealing the law would restore Kano’s prestige, as the division of the Kano Emirate into five had diminished the state’s influence nationally.

Majority Leader Lawan Dala highlighted the importance of the emirate council in preserving culture, which was disrupted by the creation of additional emirates. Therefore, reverting to Kano’s historical background of one emirate, one people, and one state was deemed necessary.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *