Blackbox Nigeria


Buhari appoints new ministers to replace Amaechi, Onu, others

By  | 

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate seeking confirmation of seven noninees for ministerial appointments.

The nominees are Henry Ikechukwu (Abia State), Umana Umana (Akwa Ibom State), Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi State) and Goodluck Obia (Imo State).

Others are Umar Yakub (Kano State), Ademola Adegorioye (Ondo State) and Odo Udi (Rivers State).

Buhari’s request was contained in a letter addressed to the upper legislative chamber, and read by Senate President Ahmad Lawan at the start of plenary on Tuesday.

The new ministers, when confirmed, will replace ministers on Buhari’s cabinet who had resigned to contest for elective positions in accordance with the provisions of Section 84(12) of the Electoral Act.

It would be recalled that the trio of Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba contested at the presidential primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC). A former Lagos State governor, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, however emerged as the APC presidential flagbearer.

Meanwhile, the new ministers are expected to be screened by the Senate on a yet-to-be-announced date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: