Vice-Chancellor Position: LASU Governing Council Shortlists 9 Professors

By  | 

The race to who becomes the ninth substantive Vice Chancellor of the Lagos State University (LASU), following the exit of Professor Olanrewaju Fagbohun, SAN, has met with an interesting development.

The Governing Council of the institution have shortlisted nine professors for the coveted office.

According to Daily Sun, 13 professors applied from within and outside LASU as at the close of the submission of application.

The Council reportedly adopted an unconventional interview method as the nine professors will write a computer test. The interview is scheduled to hold on March 11 at the Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM), Ikeja.

Seven out of the shortlisted nine candidates are internal professors of LASU, the remaining two are from other institutions.

The internal candidates include Prof. Akinyemi Kabir, Faculty of Science, Prof. Elias Wahab, current deputy vice chancellor, Prof. Sena Bakre, Faculty of Science.

Others are Prof. Ibiyemi-Bello Olatunji, LASUCOM, Prof. Olumuyiwa Odusanya, LASUCOM, Prof. Dideolu Awofoju, Namibia, Prof. Abiodun Adewuya, acting Provost of LASUCOM and Prof. Ayodeji Badejo, former Dean, Faculty of Education.

The inclusion of two of the seven internal candidates who do not have Ph.D has met with backlashes from stakeholders within the institution.

It would be recalled that Lagos State Governor and Visitor to the state-owned institution, on January 8, 2021, cancelled the process set up for the appointment of a substantive ninth Vice Chancellor of the University, ordering a fresh exercise.

The Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), Professor Oyedamola Oke, was later elected by the University Senate as the acting Vice-Chancellor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: