Tinubu holds closed-door meeting with senate president and speaker in Aso Rock Villa

Tinubu holds closed-door meeting with senate president and speaker in Aso Rock Villa

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu is currently holding a closed-door meeting with Senate President Ahmed Lawan and Speaker of the House of Representatives Femi Gbajabiamila at the Aso Rock Presidential Villa. The meeting, which commenced a few minutes past 2 pm, followed Tinubu’s earlier security briefing with the Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police.

While the purpose of the meeting remains undisclosed, speculations suggest its connection to the impending inauguration of the members of the 10th National Assembly scheduled for June 5. The outcome of this assembly will determine the new Senate President, Deputy Senate President, Speaker, and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Notably, contestants for these coveted positions hail from four out of the nation’s six geo-political zones: the North-west, South-east, South-south, and North-central.

“Today’s meeting signifies a crucial step towards the upcoming National Assembly inauguration and elections. We are focused on building a strong leadership foundation for the benefit of our great nation,” remarked President Tinubu during the closed-door session.

Within the North-west region, Barau Jibrin from Kano State and Abdulazeez Yari, a former governor of Zamfara, stand as the two prominent contenders.

Meanwhile, the South-east region boasts three aspirants vying for these positions. Among them are the incumbent governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi; Orji Kalu, the incumbent Senate Whip and former governor of Abia State, and Osita Izunanaso representing Imo State.

From the South-south region, Godswill Akpabio, former Senate Minority Leader and erstwhile governor of Akwa Ibom State, emerges as a notable contender after his defection from the Peoples Democratic Party to the ruling APC.

As the closed-door discussions between President Tinubu, Senate President Lawan, and Speaker Gbajabiamila continue, the nation eagerly awaits the unveiling of the new leadership that will steer the 10th National Assembly in the years to come.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *