Blackbox Nigeria


Sanwo-Olu, other govs bag appointments as APC announces 20 sub-committees ahead of March congresses

By  | 

Ahead of the party’s zonal congresses billed to hold on March 26, the Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has constituted 20 sub-committees.

This comes weeks after intense policking and political moves over the preferred candidates for the National Convention which was postponed several times.

The appointments of the sub-committees was contained in a document signed by the CECPC Secretary, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe.

One thing that stands out from the sub-committees is that they are mostly headed by stated governors.

Like the CECPC, the Central Planning Committee is constituted of 12 members. On the other hand, there are 7 members on the Secretariat Support Committee. The Accreditation Committee has 41 members, while some other committees are made up of 40 members each.

Kwara State governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq heads the Screening Committee, aided by Barr. Emmanuel Chikwu Emeka as Secretary. His Imo State counterpart, Hope Uzodinma is in charge of the Screening Appeal Committee with Barr. Shuaibu Aruwa SAN as Secretary.

For Ogun State governor, Dapo Abiodun, he will be heading the Secretary and Election Committee as his Katsina counterpart, Bello Masari heads the Election Appeal Committee.

Other committees include the Legal Committee which is headed by the Attorney General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami SAN. Zamfara State governor, Bello Matawalle will serve as the Chairman of the Accommodation Committee.

The Venue/Decoration/Site Servicing Committee will be chaired by Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State as Governor Simon Bako Lalong of Plateau State heads Transport/Logistics Committee.

Lagos State governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu will head the Media/Publicity Committee with Chief Femi Fani-Kayode as deputy. The Security/Protocol Committee will be chaired by Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State.

While the Accreditation Committee is headed by Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, Entertainment/Welfare Committee will be chaired by Deputy Speaker Ahmed Idris Wase. Governor Ben Ayade of Cross Rivers State will head the Medical Sub-committee.

The Budget Committee will be chaired by Gombe State governor, Inuwa Yahaya, while his Jigawa State counterpart, Badaru Abubakar heads the Finance Committee. Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama will head the Accreditation of Volunteers/Diplomats/Observers while the Digital Committee has Kashifu Inuwa as Chairman. Borno State governor, Prof. Babagana Zulum will head the Convention Legacy and Rapporteur Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: