Blackbox Nigeria


APC wins Ondo bye-election, secures Reps seat

By  | 

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner of the bye-election in Akure North-South Federal Constituency of Ondo State held on Saturday.

According to the official result announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the APC candidate, Mayokun Lawson-Alade scored 26,379 votes to defeat his closest rival, Olumuyiwa Adu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 24,201 votes.

Prof Deji Ogunseni of the Federal University of Technology Akure, who happens to be the INEC returning officer for the polls, made this known at the commission’s state headquarters, on Sunday morning.

The Ondo bye-election was held amid palpable tension in some voting centres and allegations of vote buying against the APC candidate who was reportedly chased out of his polling unit. There were also reports of logistics setbacks on the part of the electoral umpire, INEC.

Following his emergence as the winner of the election, Mayokun Lawson-Alade of the APC would replace late Adedayo Omolafe who died in August last year, creating a vacancy in the House of Representatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: