Blackbox Nigeria


Pictures As LASU Holds Media Parley, Rewards Media Friends

By  | 

Pictures As LASU Holds Media Parley, Rewards Media Friends

The CIPPR Team at the event

It was all glits at the Lagos State University on Tuesday as the management hosted its media friends to an end of the year parley and awards ceremony.

Professor Noah presenting the Award for Most Innovative Department of the Year to Professor Aribisala of Computer Science Department

The event held at the Vice Chancellor’s Conference Room had in attendance members of the press and it was organised by the institution’s image makers, the Centre for Information, Press and Public Relations.

Mr Olaniyi Jeariogbe got an Award from LASU Debate Society

According to the Mr Ademola Adekoya, Head of CIPPR, the programme was an avenue to celebrate LASU’s media friends and appreciate stakeholders that have always stand out in the course of reporting the University.

Mr Tunbosun Ogundare of Tribune Newspapers receiving his Award as Best Print Reporter of the Year

Though the Vice Chancellor, Professor Olanrewaju Fagbohun SAN was absent at the event, he was ably represented by VC Academic, Professor Olumuyiwa Noah who led other members of the University Management to the occasion. The team includes; Deans of Faculties, Directors and Deputy Registrars, Faculty Officers, staff and Students Union leaders.

The newly appointed University Librarian, Dr Emmanuel Lai Adebayo with Professor Sola Fosudo

The Vice Chancellor in his welcome address was full of praises for the members of the press for their total support to the LASU Project, noting that the acclaim being received by the University from all over the world was due to her positive reportage in the press.

Professor Noah presenting Award for Most Outstanding Faculty 2019 to Dr Olateju of Faculty of Management Sciences

Earlier in the programme, Head of CIPPR, Mr Adekoya, while welcoming the guests insisted that the Media was critical to the rebranding project of the Centre. He thanked the media for always giving a balanced reportage of the University, noting that the awards was to show appreciation for their good works.

Head of CIPPR, Mr Adekoya as he receives Award of Recognition from LASU Debate Society, presented by Hezekiah Tiamiyu

Chairman of the Organising Committee, Mr Gbadegesin Dahood

The awards presentation was kickstarted with the conferment of Special Recognition Awards to former Heads of the CIPPR, Mr Kayode Sutton, Prof. Sola Fosudo and Mrs. Mabel Oyeniji. Excellence in Service Award was also presented to Mr Kayode Ajiboye of the Daily Independent Newspaper and Oluwakemi Oladipo of News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

LASU Registrar, Mr Olayinka Amuni presenting the Award for Best Radio Presenter of the Year to Ms Kikelomo Ifekoya of FRCN

The Best Online Reporter 2019 went to Loveth Azodo of Optimum Times, Best Print Reporter was clinched by Tunbosun Ogundare of Tribune Newspaper, Best Radio Reporter went to Kikelomo Ifekoya of FRCN and Best Television Reporter went to Iyabo Wale-Eri of NTA.

Former Heads of CIPPR; L-R, Mrs Mabel Oyeniji, Mr Kayode Sutton and Professor Sola Fosudo

Other awards included the Most Innovative Department of the Year, which was won by the Department of Computer Science; Special Recognition Faculty Award, which went to the Faculty of Arts and the Most Outstanding Faculty of the Year which was won by the Faculty of Management Sciences.

Mrs Oyeniji flanked by LASUDA Director, Professor Ibiyemi Olatunji-Bello mni and Professor Adenike Boyo

Mrs Iyabo Wale-Eri of NTA picking her Award as Best Television Reporter of the Year

Highpoint of the day was a surprise award for CIPPR Best Staff of the Year which went to Mr Oluwaseun Gbanja. The award was with a cash prize of Twenty Thousand Naira (N20,000).

Mr Oluwaseun Gbanja flanked by the Deputy VC Academic, former and current Heads of CIPPR as he received the Centre’s Best Staff of the Year

The Media Parley marked a highly successful year in the University with goodwill messages delivered by the Deputy Bursar, Mr Benjamin Asade, Former Acting Vice Chancellor and Director LASUDA, Prof. Ibiyemi Olatunji-Bello, and Dean, Faculty of Education, Prof. Yemi Akinkuotu, amongst others.

Faculty of Arts was also recognized for having 22 Lectures being the highest lecture in the Year

Loveth Azodo of Optimum Times as she picked her Award as Best Online Reporter of the Year


A Learner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: