Oyo Speaker’s PDP affiliation on Tinubu’s inauguration concert list spark concerns

Oyo Speaker’s PDP affiliation on Tinubu’s inauguration concert list spark concerns

Promise Eze

Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Adebo Ogundoyin of the Peoples Democratic Party, who was selected as the chairman of the committee to organise a befitting inauguration concert to usher in Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the president of Nigeria has raised concerns.

The committee was set up ahead of May 29th inauguration planned by leaders of the youth wing in the All Progressives Congress (APC) to celebrate young people across the country who contributed to the party’s victory and the emergence of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu in the last presidential election.

Tagged the ‘Renewed Hope Concert’, the event is billed tentatively to take place on the 25th of May, 2023, at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abuja.

A statement signed Saturday in Abuja, by the Chairman, Renewed Hope Concert Media Committee, Ademuyiwa Adebola Taofeek, said the event will feature prominent and trending music and entertainment artistes from across the country, while also providing fun and networking opportunities to attendees, regardless of party affiliation, ahead of the transition of power which will see the President-elect take his oath of office.

According to the statement, the organizing committee of the concert is chaired by the country’s next first son, Seyi Tinubu, “who guided the party’s victorious youth engagement efforts during the campaign and was instrumental in the effective mobilization of youth votes, using his ample professional experience and global network.

“Seyi Tinubu will be deputies by Kashim Shettima Jr as Vice Chairperson, while the APC national youth leader, Dayo Israel, Damilotun Aderemi, and Barrister Ismaeel Ahmed will all serve as Co Vice-Chairpersons.

“Others on the organizing committee include Tosin Odufuwa, the Director of Finance; Dada Olusegun, the Secretary; Bello el-Rufai, Senator Asuquo Ekpeyong, Hon. Akarachi Mbaike, Femi Oyetola, Rt. Hon. Debo Ogundoyin, Ms Seun Olufemi-Whyte, Kola Alabi, Charles Odili, Ummasalma Rabiu, and Mubarak Dan Batta as members.”

However, a tweep, Premier, wondered why Rt Hon Adebo Ogundoyin who is a member of PDP should accept such offer.

“PDP Speaker from one South West State is on Tinubu’s inauguration list. It seems PDP is busy sleeping with their pillows,” he wrote.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *