LG polls: Lagos to inaugurate new council chairmen Tuesday

LG polls: Lagos to inaugurate new council chairmen Tuesday

The Lagos State Government has said it will swear in all elected Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of 20 Local Governments/37 Local Council Development Areas in the State on Tuesday, July 27.

This was contained in a statement from the Ministry of Local Government & Community Affairs, which was signed by Amodu Razaak, the Director of the Local Government Affairs.

Recall that the election for Chairmen and Councillors was held on Saturday, July 24, in several polling units across 20 local governments and 37 local council development areas in the state.

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won majority of the chairmanship and councillorship seats despite low voter turnout and logistical challenges that marred the polls.

The inauguration of the local councils’ leadership will take place at 1pm at the Sports Ground, Lagos House, Ikeja, according to the statement.

Razaak added that guests would be allowed to join via Zoom.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: