LASU Set To Host Osinbajo As 57 Graduands Bag First Class At 23rd Convocation

LASU Set To Host Osinbajo As 57 Graduands Bag First Class At 23rd Convocation

LASU Set To Host Osinbajo As 57 Graduands Bag First Class At 23rd Convocation

The Lagos State University on Thursday announced that 57 graduating students bagged First Class out of 14,312 students set to graduate at the forthcoming 23rd Convocation Ceremony.

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Lanre Fagbohun while briefing members of the press at the Convocation Conference described the First Class figure as historic and a significant improvement over the previous convocation where about 26 Graduands emerged with First Class.

While noting that the figure is the highest since the inception of the Citadel of Learning, Fagbohun stated that this feat was achieved as a result of special measures put in place for the benefits of the students. In his speech, he also disclosed that Nigeria’s Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo will be a special guest at the 23rd convocation as he is billed to deliver a key note speech.

Fagbohun said the graduands comprises 54 diploma, 10, 252 first degrees, and 4, 063 higher degrees consisting 1,532 postgraduate diploma, 57 and 1994 academic and professional masters as well as 17 doctor of philosophy.

This improvement on the figure of our First Class graduands is historic because this is the first time we are having this. This is the fallout of our Quality Assurance measure and every nook and cranny of the university has keyed into this vision. Besides our campuses are now full of activities as our students compete among themselves within the system and the rest of the world.”

He said two best graduating students – Ridwan Oladotun Ola-Gbadamosi (Faculty of Engineering) and Nneka Karen Enumah (Faculty of Science) both made cumulative grade point average of 4.78.

In addition Shukurat Opeyemi Kannike led the Faculty of Basic Sciences/Physiology with CGPA of 4.36, while Moshood Adekunle Bakare of Faculty of Education (Accounting Education) slammed his contemporaries with CGPA of 4.75.

The trio of Ismaila Owolabi Salami of the Faculty of Management Sciences (Insurance); and Titilope Aishat Adebisi of the School of Communication (Mass Communication); as well as Emmanuel Adeoye Oyeleke of the School of Transport (Transport Management and Operations), dwarfed their colleagues with CGPA of 4.85; 4.47; and 4.12, in that order.

Besides, Fagbohun said LASU was recently designated an Africa Centre of Excellence for Innovation and Transformative STEM Education, noting that the institution also inaugurated its Centre for Afro-Brazillian Studies at the Faculty of Arts.

He said the university has continued to record achievements under his watch with 37 additional programmes being granted accreditation by National Universities Commission. This is also in addition to the 43 programmes that already enjoy full accreditation by NUC.

Faghohun recalled that for sometimes, ago, the university put on hold the conferment of honorary degrees, saying it would lift the embargo at its due course.

“It is not that we do not have distinguished Nigerians that merit our honorary awards; however, I want to again say our process (for choosing awardees) is rigorous. We want to tread softly so as not to compromise standards,” he said.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *