LASU Set To Establish Distance Learning Institute & Research, Commissions Committee

LASU Set To Establish Distance Learning Institute & Research, Commissions Committee

The Lagos State University Management today constituted a Committee for the Open/Distance Learning Institute and Research, a new arm of the institution.

According to a release by the Centre for Information, Press and Public Relations of the Vice Chancellor’s office, the Distance Learning Institute was commissioned to cater for the overwhelming number of candidates that have so far picked the citadel of learning as their choice of University.

Mr Jeariogbe, a representative of the CIPPR said the commissioning of the Institute was due to the challenges faced by the Management to deal with the population of admission requests in the past 12 months. While noting that the 2015/16 admission was gone, he said the programme will be very much available for candidates who picks the Universityin coming examinations.

The Committee with the VC and his Team

At the inauguration, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Lanre Fagbohun appreciated the Distinguished Members of the Committee and urged them to meet the fundamental societal need and also place the University on the path of sustainable sustainability.

He said, “I am happy to tell you that these wonderful people are the top notch, people who are striking the Midas touch in the life of our University. We are sure that the team will deliver to the timeline we have put in place. The work of this Committee is historical, it will make the founding fathers of this institution very Proud. To the glory of God, to the benefits of Lagos State and Nigeria, I inaugurate the Committee.”

Some Members of the Committee after the inauguration

The Deputy  Vice Chancellor [Academic], Prof. O. A. K Noah, Registrar,  Lewis Akinwunmi Oladapo, Bursar, Mr. Adetayo Hassan and Acting Librarian Dr. Mrs. Dirisu, were also present at the University Senate Chamber, where the Committee was inaugurated.

BlackBox Nigeria gathered that the Committee consists of staff of the Main Campus, College of Medicine and also staff of National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN).

The Committee is chaired by a former Executive Secretary of National University Commission, Professor Peter Okebukola.

He spoke on behalf of the members and promised to perform and deliver on the task given by the Management.

Other Members of the Committee include, Prof Sena Bak’re, Dr. Isaac Oyewunmi, Dr. Sunkanmi Odubunmi, Dr. Jacob Olufemi Fatile, Dr. S. G Odewunmi, Dr. Bosede Amoo, Dr. Awotile Adenike, Dr. Aderonke Abah, Dr. Modupeore Sorunke, Dr. Ifeoma Menakaya, Dr. Olugbenga A. Adenuga – Taiwo, Dr. Theresa Onwordi, Dr. Stella Durowoju,Dr. Eric Omazu, Dr. Opateye Johnson Ayodele, Fatai Lasisi, Representative of NUC and Mrs. O. Olanrewaju-John who will serve as the Committee’s Secretary.

A Learner

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *