LASU Retains Title Of Best Delegates At 2018 NITIM United Nations

By  | 

LASU Retains Title Of Best Delegates At 2018 NITIM United Nations

Delegates who represented the Lagos State University, Ojo at the Nigerian Institutions Tertiary Model United Nations (NITIMUN) has emerged winner of the 2018 Conference, holding on to the title won in the last edition.

NITIMUN Conference is a platform created for Tertiary Students across the country to become Ambassadors of Nation of Choice then carry out academic research for the purpose of engaging their colleagues from other Universities and Polytechnics.

The 2018 edition of NITIMUN Conference centred on the topic, Youth as Change Agents in the Fight Against Hate and Discrimination. The 4-day event was held at the Green Minds Hotel and Conference Center, Utako, Abuja.

LASU delegates at this Year’s conference include; Olayemi Japhet, Eniayeju Josephine, Faith Uzuegbu, Lawal Ademola, Rasaq Abiola, Alayande Oluwafemi, Shotunde Oladimeji, Fagbolade Ewaoluwa, Badru Damilola, Omope Olawunmi and Adelakun Tufayi.

Staff Advisers at the Conference include; Principal Assistant Registrar(Students Affairs), Mrs Omolola Dosunmu, Assistant Chief Executive Officer (Information), Mr Olaniyi S Jeariogbe.

BlackBox Nigeria gathered that LASU’s participation in the NITIMUN Conference started in 2017 after the University Management under the leadership of Professor Olanrewaju Fagbohun SAN committed resources to sponsoring the Students to the Conference on yearly basis.

Asides winning the Best School at 2018 NITIMUN Conference, some of the Delegates also won personal awards, they include; Most Outstanding Male Delegate – Shotunde Oladimeji, Most Outstanding Female Delegate and Outstanding Delegate – Security Council & SCYAAD – Fagbolade Ewaoluwa, Best Male Conference official Male – Alayande Oluwafemi, Best Female Conference Official – Uzuegbu Faith, Outstanding Delegate – ECOSOC, UNODC & AFDB (Joint Committee) – Shotunde Oladimeji, Outstanding Delegate – General Assembly & UNESCO – Badru Damilola, Best Committee Chairperson – Eniayeju Josephine, 2nd Best Committee Rapporteur – Olayemi Japhet.

Other awards given include : President, 2018 General Assembly – Rasaq Abiola Mariam, Deputy Secretary General 2018 – Uzuegbu Faith, Under Secretary General (Research &Planning) – Alayande Oluwafemi and Director – General Assembly & UNESCO – Lawal Ademola.

All Delegates received their Certificates of Participation. The two Staff Advisers as well as LASU also received Certificates of Participation.

BBN discovered that the University’s participation at the International Conference has better showcased potentials of LASU students to other sister Universities and the World at large. On the part of the students, they are better informed on the potency of dialogue and engagement in solving critical issues of national and international interests.


A Learner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: