LASU Delegates Beat UNILAG, Other Varsities To Emerge Best At NITIM United Nations 2019

By  | 

LASU Delegates Beat UNILAG, Other Varsities To Emerge Best At NITIM United Nations 2019


The delegates from the Lagos State University, Ojo has maintained the institution’s record at the Nigerian International Tertiary Institutions Model United Nations (NITIMUN) leaderboard as they emerged victorious ahead of other delegates.

During the presentation of Best Delegation to Lagos State University

The NITIMUN Conference is a yearly event packaged with the support of the United Nations. It is an avenue whereby students of participating tertiary institutions become ambassadors of different countries who are members of the UN, given topics of public interest and tasked to have presentations during the 5day event. In same vein, accompanying Staff of each institutions serve as Advisors to the delegates (students) as they help monitor their tasks.

It will be recalled that delegates of LASU emerged overall winners in 2017 just as one of its staff, Mr Olaniyi Jeariogbe won the Best Staff Advisor. The institution also retained its position at the 2018 edition and just last week emerged winner of the 2019. In addition, this year’s delegates couped a total of 19 personal awards just as Mr Olaniyi pulled a come back to be this year’s Best Staff Advisor.

Also, LASU contestants for the positions of Secretary General and President of NITIMUN Assembly beat their arch rivals from University of Lagos and other contestasting institutions as Vera Cruz Gbolahan (300L Biology Education) emerged Secretary General and Tolulope Omogunle (300L Political Science Education) won the presidential seat.

Some of LASU delegates during a diplomatic visit to the residence of Denmark’s Ambassador to Nigeria, Ambassador Jesper Kamp in Abuja.

Below is the list of delegates awarded at the end of the 2019 Conference;

Best Delegate in Peace Building Committee – Asaka Victory

Second Best Delegate UN Office on Drug and Crime – Olaleye Ayobamikale Isaac

Best Delegate UN Office on Drug and Crime – Abiona Olaide Oludayo

Third Best Delegate Economic and Social Committee – Adelakun Tufayl Olalekan

Second Best Delegate Economic and Social Committee (Akinsanmi Oladunni Hillary

Third Best delegate General Assembly – Amoo Feyikemi Adesola

Third Best Delegate Security Council – Omogunle Tolulope

Best Delegate Security Council – Vera-Cruz Gbolahan

Second Best Rapporteur – Olaleye Ayobamikale Isaac

Best Rapporteur – Ajayibembe Adetoun Janet

Second Best Conference Official – Badru Damilola

Best Conference Official – Shotunde Oladimeji

Best Cultural Performance LASU

Overall Second Best Male Delegate – Omogunle Tolulope

Overall Best Male Delegate – Vera-Cruz Gbolahan

Overall Second Best Female Delegate – Akinsanmi Oladunni Hillary

Best School Delegation LASU

Most Out standing Staff Adviser – Mr. Jeariogbe Olaniyi S

Reacting to the outstanding performance of the delegates at the 2019 Conference, the Vice Chancellor of LASU, Professor Olanrewaju Fagbohun SAN congratulated the entire team, including the support staff and promised to host them to a lunch in order to celebrate properly with the participants.


A Learner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: