Lagos extends okada ban to four additional LGAs

By  | 

The Lagos State Government has extended the ban on the operations of commercial motorcycles, popularly called okada, to four additional LGAs in the state.

This development was announced by the Commissioner for Transportation, Frederic Oladeinde, on Thursday.

According to Oladeinde, the affected LGAs are Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Shomolu, and Mushin.

It would be recalled that in May, the Lagos State governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu declared a total ban on okada in six LGAs — Ikeja, Surulere, Eti Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island and Apapa.

On Thursday, Oladeinde announced at a media briefing that the governor has okayed the second phase of the ban on operations of commercial motorcycles.

He added that the ban also affects the Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) within the affected LGAs.

The LCDAs include Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga and Odi-Olowo, and the ban will be effective from September 2022.

“Mr Governor has approved the ban of okada in another four LGAs and six LCDAs for the second phase of the total ban in addition to the ongoing ban in the six LGAs,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: