Blackbox Nigeria


It’s official! Ayu is new PDP chair as Arapaja beats Oyinlola to emerge deputy

By  | 

Leshi Adebayo

Nigeria’s main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has elected Iyorchia Ayu as its National Chairman and Taofeek Arapaja as Deputy National Chairman (South).

The two National Working Committee (NWC positions and 19 others were won during the party’s national convention on Saturday.

Only 3 positions were contested while consensus candidates were adopted for the remaining offices.

Ayu, a former Senate President and longtime ally of former Vice President Atiku Abubakar was adopted as a consensus candidate for National Chairman, amassing a total of 3,426 votes, unchallenged.

For the Deputy National Chairman (South) position, Taofeek Arapaja, a former deputy governor of Oyo State polled 2,004 votes to defeat Olagunsoye Oyinlola, former governor of Osun State, who scored 705 votes.

While Umar Damagum, former governorship candidate of Yobe State, emerged Deputy National Chairman (North), as he amassed 2,222 votes to defeat Inna Ciroma, former minister of women affairs from Borno state, who had 365 votes.

25-year-old Muhammed Suleiman from Kaduna State emerged as PDP Youth Leader, garnering 3,072 votes to defeat another Kaduna candidate, Usman Elkudan, who got 219 votes.

Adamawa State Governor and Chief Returning Officer of the election, Ahmadu Finitri declared all that the candidates were duly elected.

The New National Chairman, Iyorchia Ayu said that the opposition party is back to rescue Nigeria from the “terrible mess” the country has been pushed into.

He boasted that Nigerians will see a “mammoth crowd” decamping to PDP in the coming days.

Meanwhile, other unopposed NWC positions with their respective occupants are National Secretary, Deputy National Secretary, National Treasurer, Deputy National Treasurer, National Financial Secretary, Deputy National Financial Secretary, National Organising Secretary, and Deputy National Organising Secretary.

Others are National Publicity Secretary, Deputy National Publicity Secretary, National Auditor, Deputy National Auditor, National Legal Adviser, Deputy National Legal Adviser, National Women Leader, Deputy National Women Leader, and Deputy National Youth Leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: