Government Seals Eight Banks Over Non-Remittance Of N1bn Tax Fund

By  | 

Enugu State Government have successfully sealed off eight banks over non remittance of tax funds running into N1bn. The action was carried out after a Court issued the order against the banks.

The exercise started on Monday morning at about 5:30am, and has affected Access Bank PLC, Stanbic IBTC Bank, Skye Bank, Union Bank, Unity Bank, Heritage Bank, Keystone Bank and Sterling Bank, in the metropolis.

The Chairman, Enugu State Board of Internal Revenue, Mr Emeka Odo made this known to newsmen in Enugu, that the board obtained an order from the state High Court to seal the affected banks.

Odo, said sealing of the banks which is the first phase of the enforcement exercise on the major companies and institutions will remain under lock and key, to ensure that they perform their civic obligations to the state government.

He however called on customers of the affected banks not to panic as the banks are expected to take necessary actions, to enable the government serve them better.

Source: Channels TV

A Learner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: