GOAT Debate Ends As Lionel Messi Beats Cristiano Ronaldo, Lewandowski, Others To Win Best Player Of The Decade

By  | 

The International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) has named Barcelona legend Lionel Messi the world’s best player of the decade between 2011 and 2020.

The 33-year-old Argentine beats arch-rival Cristiano Ronaldo who came second on the list and eight other superstars to win the prestigious award.

Also included in the 10 man shortlist are big names such as Andres Iniesta, Neymar, Luka Modric, and Sergio Ramos.

The six-time Ballon d’Or winner came top of the list after the 150 members of the international organisation voted for the player deserving of the status.

Legend goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon and Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic also made the cut but came in as the eighth and ninth-best in the world in the last decade.

However, no current Premier League player was mentioned in the list.

See full list below:

Lionel Messi (Argentina)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Andres Iniesta (Spain)
Neymar (Brazil)
Sergio Ramos (Spain)
Manuel Neuer (Germany)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland)
Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
Luka Modric (Croatia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: