Blackbox Nigeria


FULL LIST: Here is the new total number of polling units in Lagos

By  | 

As part of its preparations for the 2023 general elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in June 2021, announced the creation of additional 56,872 polling units (PUs) in the country.

INEC Chairman, Prof Mahmood Yakubu had said the electoral body converted former voting points and voting point settlements into polling units.

Ranking highest in the state-by-state distribution was Lagos State with 4,861 PUs. Prior to the creation of the new PUs, the state boasted of 8,464 PUs spread across its 20 local government areas (LGAs). Following the increment, the total number of PUs in the state has now risen to 13,325.

A breakdown of the distribution by LGAs in Lagos shows that Alimosho, the biggest and most populous LGA in the state, got additional 844 PUs, followed by Eti-Osa LGA with 430 PUs, while Ifako and Oshodi LGAs were allocated 426 and 380 PUs, respectively.

Other LGAs like Ikorodu and Ikeja were given 352 and 302 PUs, respectively. However, Epe LGA got the lowest number of additional PUs — 28.

See the full breakdown below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: