From Emefiele to Irukera: List of appointees sacked by President Bola Tinubu and why

From Emefiele to Irukera: List of appointees sacked by President Bola Tinubu and why

Ghazali Ibrahim

Since he assumed office as Nigeria’s number one citizen, President Bola Tinubu hasn’t missed an opportunity to make the bold statement: a new Sheriff is in town.

To this effect, the president has embarked on a restructuring of the government appointees who will serve under his government, particularly removing the officials appointed by his predecessor, President Muhammadu Buhari.

Here is a list of appointees that have sacked by the president so far in the six months of his administration.

1. Ex-CBN governor, Godwin Emefiele

On 9th June, 2023, President Tinubu suspended the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele over alleged gross misconduct and subjected his suspension to investigation by the Department of State Security Service (DSS). Tinubu, thereafter ordered Emefiele’s probe, adding that the government is investigating him as part of the planned reforms in the economy’s financial sector.

2. Service Chiefs

On 19th June,2023, President Bola Tinubu sacked all the service chiefs appointed by his predecessor. The suspended service chiefs were Alkali Usman who was removed as the Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Lucky Irabor, sacked as the Chief of Defence Staff; Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff; Awwal Gambo, removed as the Chief of Naval Staff; and Isiaka Amao, retired as Chief of Air Staff.

At the same time service chiefs were sacked, the National Security Adviser, Maj-Gen Babagana (rtd) was replaced with Nuhu Ribadu.

3. EFCC Chairman

On 14th July, 2023, President Tinubu suspended the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Abdulrasheed Bawa over allegations of abuse of office. After the suspension, Bawa remained in the detention of the Department of State Services (DSS) for some time being and thereafter released after recovering substantial amount from his possession.


President Tinubu removed the Director-General of the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC), Engr. Aliyu Abubakar Aziz, replacing him with Engr. Bisoye Coker-Odusote. The president directed the outgoing DG to retire with 90 days pre-retirement leave.

5. Directors of Aviation Departments

On 13th December, 2023, President Tinubu suspended Directors of Aviation departments. According to a statement by the presidential spokesperson, Ajuri Ngelale, the move was “in line with the president’s determination to bring world class standards to Nigerian Civil Aviation in consumer protection and the promotion of the well-being of Nigerian passengers and other sectoral stakeholders”.

The affected directors include the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria, Mr. Kabir Yusuf Mohammed; Nigerian Airspace Management Agency, Mr. Tayib Adetunji Odunowo; Nigerian Safety Investigation Bureau, Akinola Olateru; Nigerian Meteorological Agency, Prof. Mansur Bako Matazu, Nigerian College of Aviation Technology, Capt. Alkali Mahmud Modibbo.

6. FCCPC boss, Babatunde Irukera

On 8th January, 2023, President Tinubu suspended Babatunde Irukera, the CEO of the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC) and Alexander Okoh, the CEO of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE).

Ajuri Ngelale, the presidential spokesperson, said Okoh and Irukera were sacked due to plans to restructure and reposition critical agencies of the federal government towards protecting the rights of Nigerian consumers.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *