Blackbox Nigeria


Buhari appoints new EFCC board, seeks Senate’s confirmation

By  | 

Leshi Adebayo


President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new board members of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

They include George Ekpungu as Secretary (Cross River); Luqman Muhammed (Edo); Anumba Adaeze (Enugu); Kola Adesina (Kwara); and Yahaya Muhammad (Yobe) as members of the board.

The President forwarded the names of the nomiees to the Senate for screening and confirmation.

His request was contained in a letter dated 17 September and read out by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, at the commencement of plenary on Tuesday.

According to the president, the request for the confirmation of the nominees was in accordance with the provision of Section 2(1) of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (Establishment) Act, 2004.

He urged the Senate to confirm the nominees in the “usual expeditious manner.”

Meanwhile, this is coming less than three days after Buhari appointed board members for NNPC Limited.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: