All Six Premier League Clubs Withdraw From European Super League

By  | 

All six Premier League teams involved in the breakaway European Super League have formally withdrawn from the competition.

Manchester City were the first club to formally pull out after Chelsea had signaled their intent to do so by preparing documentation to withdraw.

The other four sides – Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham – have all now followed suit.

The 12-team Super League was announced on Sunday to widespread condemnation.

English football’s ‘big six’ were part of a group, also containing Spain’s Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid and Italy’s AC Milan, Inter Milan and Juventus, that announced plans to form the breakaway league, which they hoped to establish as a new midweek competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: