PDP: 92 Aspirants Jostle For 23 Positions In National Convention

By  | 

PDP: 92 Aspirants Jostle For 23 Positions In National Convention


As all is getting set for the national convention of the People’s Democratic Party, BlackBox Nigeria gathers that 92 aspirants have signified their intention to run for 23 available offices.

SOme of the offices to be contested on Saturday, December 9th are National Chairman, Deputy National Chairman (South and North), National Secretary, Deputy National Secretary, National Legal Adviser, Deputy National Legal Adviser, National Organising Secretary, National Youth Leader and National Publicity Secretary.

According to the aspirants list obtained in Abuja late Thursday, nine of the aspirants are all running for the top office of the National Chairman. The aspirants are; Otunba Gbenga Daniels, Uche Secondus, Jimi Agbaje, Rashidi Ladoja, taoheed Adedoja, Tunde Adeniran, Chief Olabode George, Chief Raymond Dokpesi and Aderemi Olusegun. They have all been screened by a panel headed by Mr Osagie Ize-Iyamu, the former governorship candidate in Edo State.

Despite seven of the nine aspirants of the national chairman coming from the South-West, another two prominent figures also appeared on the list of those competing for the position of the Deputy National Chairman (South). They are former Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Alhaji Hazeem Gbolarumi and former Minister of Solid Minerals, Chief Sarafa Ishola.

Also on the list are Yemi Akinwonmi, Adisa Oladapo and Sterling Ellis. Six of the 92 aspirants vying for the position of Deputy NAtional Chairman (North) include; former Minister of Women Affairs, Hajia Inna Ciroma, Alhaji Musa Usman, Nuhu Poloma, Senator Babayo Garmawa, Bala Ilala and Abdulmalik Mahmud.

Aspirants for the position of NPS are a former Minister of National Planning, Prof. Abubakar Suleiman; Faruk Adejoh-Audu, Mohammed Usman, Kola Ologbodiyan and Ben Duntoye.

Only three people are however vying for the position of National Organising Secretary, they include Emeka Donald, Godwin Duru and Austin Akobundu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: